Topics: Grading Beads

Does Fire Mountain grade all beads the same? The only thing I find on your site is about pearls. I just wanted to have a way to tell what I am buying in all beads and pieces.

- Carolyn
There are many different types of stone grading systems available and being used today. Some organizations have well established widely respected standards for judging qualities in diamonds. There are few similarly accepted standards for judging other stones however. Fire Mountain Gems and Beads is a charter member of the AGTA (American Gem Trade Association) and adheres to their standards for enhancement codes for all gemstones.

We grade gemstones by the quality of their features. This does not mean they are more beautiful or better suited to your needs. Generally speaking, the higher graded stones (such as ''A'' grade) will have the following characteristics:
  • Vivid, saturated colors
  • Deeper colors (unless the depth of color is so great as to make the stone appear blackish)
  • Fewer and smaller inclusions (unless the inclusions contribute in a positive manner to the appearance of the stone)
  • And few or no enhancements
The grade of gemstones is 'B' unless stated otherwise. When choosing a gemstone, we hope you will look for the one that will give you the most enjoyment.

Resources ...

Still can't find what you're looking for? Submit your Question.